Quick meals are the best, especially when most of the ingredients can be kept on-hand, either in the pantry or the freezer. This is one of those meals that are perfect for when you get home from work and are exhausted, and just need to throw something together for dinner. The first time I made this, I needed something fast for dinner unless I wanted to be eating super late. The second time I made it was this past weekend (or I guess my past weekend, which is my two days off during the week). I wanted something easy for lunch for my husband and myself, and this fit the bill. It’s light and tasty while still being filling. It was easy to double, too, so now I have leftovers for future lunches!

Tortellini Soup

1 tablespoon olive oil
3 cloves garlic, minced
¼ cup onion, minced
½ teaspoon dried oregano
1 quart (4 cups) low sodium chicken broth or vegetable broth
1 (14.5 ounce) can diced tomatoes
Salt
Freshly ground black pepper
9-10 ounce package cheese tortellini, fresh or frozen
3 cups fresh baby spinach, loosely packed
Parmesan cheese

In a large pot, heat the oil over medium heat. Add the garlic and onion; cook until the onion is softened and the garlic has turned light gold, about 5 minutes.

Add the oregano, broth, and tomatoes (undrained); salt and pepper to taste. Bring the soup to a boil and add the tortellini. Cook according to the package directions. When the tortellini are cooked, remove the pot from the heat immediately so they do not overcook; add the spinach and stir until wilted and combined. Season with additional salt and pepper, if necessary.

Serve the soup immediately, topped with grated or shredded Parmesan cheese.

Source: Adapted from Two Peas & Their Pod, via The Well-Fed Newlyweds

