Tags

, , , ,

This past week, I went on a huge cooking spree. I finally came up with a sort of game plan to try a bunch of recipes that I’ve been eying on different blogs. Most of them were entrees, which is a good thing because I noticed that I have a lot of desserts bookmarked, and not so many main dishes or non-sweet treats. Between a trip to save money and buy in bulk from Costco and a few trips to a couple different grocery stores, my frig and freezer are packed. I just had to make a milkshake to use up the ice cream in the freezer to make more room. Gee darn. πŸ™‚

One of the dishes I was most excited to try were these chicken taquitos. Again, I’m behind the trend since bloggers have been posting about these bad boys for months now. But I am so glad I got around to trying them. They were phenomenal. And it’s so fun to make them! Taquitos are something I never thought to make. I buy them frozen when I feel like splurging on some really unhealthy food, and never thought twice about it.

Not only are these baked, which makes them way more healthy than their fried counterparts, but you get the hands on experience of really working with your food. The filling can be made in advance and left in the frig. I made my filling a few days ago on one of my days off, and just now rolled them tonight. Which, by the way, is also really easy. You can even freeze them so you always have some homemade taquitos on hand. So if this is the first time you’re seeing this recipe or you’ve seen it before and just haven’t tried it yet, please try these taquitos. You will love them!

Baked Creamy Chicken Taquitos

3 ounces cream cheese, softened
ΒΌ cup salsa
1 tablespoon fresh lime juice
Β½ teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon chili powder
Β½ teaspoon onion powder
ΒΌ teaspoon granulated garlic
3 tablespoons chopped cilantro
2 tablespoons sliced green onions
2 cups cooked chicken, shredded
1 cup shredded Mexican cheese (or pepper jack, cheddar, Monterey, ect.)
12-16 6-inch corn or flour tortillas
Kosher salt
Cooking spray

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. Lightly coat a baking sheet with cooking spray.

In a medium mixing bowl, combine cream cheese, salsa, lime juice, cumin, chili powder, onion powder, granulated garlic, cilantro, and green onions. Add chicken and cheese, mixing until thoroughly combined.

Working with a few tortillas at a time, place the tortillas between damp paper towels and microwave for about 20-30 seconds or until they are soft enough to roll without cracking. Place 2-3 tablespoons of chicken mixture on the lower third of a tortilla. Roll the tortilla tightly around the filling, then place seam side down on the baking sheet. Repeat the process until all the filling is used up, spacing the taquitos evenly on the baking sheet so they are not touching each other. Spray the tops lightly with cooking spray and sprinkle some kosher salt on top.

Bake for 15-20 minutes or until crisp and the ends start to get golden brown. If baking frozen taquitos, add a few extra minutes in the oven. Serve with sour cream, salsa, or guacamole.

Source: Our Best Bites

