Tags

, , ,

I never used to be a fan of potatoes. I had nothing against them, I just preferred pasta, or even rice, over potatoes if given the choice. Needless to say, this disappointed some of the people who would enjoy the meals I cooked in college, but they learned to deal with it. If they could only see me now… or eat with me!

I actually have cravings for potatoes now. A lot of times, it’s for potatoes and cheese, but lately I’ve been all about potatoes and eggs. I was craving potato hash so badly that I made do with what I had on hand…. tater tots, cheese, salsa, and eggs. Yeah, it was kind of a desperate attempt to use whatever I had on hand to achieve my ultimate goal.Granted, it didn’t satisfy my craving so I went online then went to the store after I found this recipe. It combines normal hash ingredients with spinach, for an extra yum-factor that makes it unique.

Spinach-Potato Hash
Note: Can also be served on a tortilla with salsa and scrambled eggs as a breakfast burrito.

1 medium yellow onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
2 pounds Yukon gold potatoes, cut into bite-size chunks
4 tablespoons olive oil, divided
8 ounces ground sausage
2 teaspoons Italian seasoning
salt and pepper to taste
2 cups baby spinach leaves
2 to 4 eggs, fried to desired doneness

Preheat over to 400 degrees F. Place diced potatoes on a baking sheet and drizzle with 2 tablespoons olive oil. Toss to coat then sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste. Bake potatoes for 20-30 minutes, or until potatoes are cooked through and tender when poked with a fork.

While potatoes are baking, heat 2 tablespoons of olive oil in a large saucepan over medium heat. Add the ground sausage and cook until browned, crumbling with a spoon as it cooks. Remove the sausage from the pan and set aside. Add onions to the pan and cook until softened and browned. Add the Italian seasoning, and season with salt and pepper as it cooks. Add the minced garlic, and cook for 1 minute more.

Remove the pan from the heat and add the cooked sausage back to the pan. When potatoes are done roasting, remove from the oven. Add the potatoes to the pan with the sausage and onions; fold to incorporate. Add the spinach and toss to combine and to slightly wilt the leaves.

Transfer the hash to a serving dish.  Season with salt and pepper as necessary.  Fry as many eggs as you’d like and serve over hash.

Source: Adapted from Joy the Baker