Tags

, , ,

Yes, this is another zucchini post, but at least it’s a savory recipe this time! After all, I’m only trying to help all of you out there with excess zucchini! I’m still super jealous of all of you, even though I recently acquired two giant zucchinis that shredded down to about 4 cups each. Yay me!

This simple side dish is super tasty, and super easy. It’s not strong in zucchini flavor, but it helps to add texture and it’s a great way to sneak vegetables into people who aren’t veggie fans, such as myself. After making it, I proceeded to tell myself that I didn’t need a veggie with the meal now, since my starch and vegetables were merged into one dish! The cheese makes the rice incredibly creamy, too. So make sure all your zucchini doesn’t go to waste, and give this a try!

Cheesy Zucchini Rice

2 cups chicken or vegetable broth
1 cup white rice
2 tablespoons butter
1 medium zucchini, grated on the large holes of a cheese grater
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
salt and pepper, to taste

Bring the broth to a boil in a medium saucepan.Β  Stir in the rice, cover, and reduce heat to low. Simmer rice for about 20 minutes, or until most of the liquid has been absorbed.

Remove from heat, add the butter and zucchini, and cover.Β  Allow to stand for 5 minutes, then stir to incorporate.Β  Stir in the cheese, mixing well to combine; season with salt and pepper, and serve.

Source: Slightly adapted from Pink Parsley

